

North Carolina Council on Health Care Coverage

January 8, 2021 10:00 AM – 12:45 PM

Participant List

The Honorable Roy Cooper Governor of North Carolina

North Carolina Legislators

Rep. Gale Adcock, MSN, RN, FNP NC House of Representatives

Rep. Kristin Baker, MDNC House of Representatives

Rep. John R. Bell, IVNC House of Representatives

Senator Jim Burgin NC Senate

Rep Carla Cunningham, RN, BSN NC House of Representatives

Senator Ralph Hise, M.Ed. NC Senate

Senator Brent Jackson NC Senate

Senator Joyce Krawiec NC Senate

Rep. Donny LambethNC House of Representatives

Senator Gladys Robinson, PhD NC Senate

Rep. Donna White, RNNC House of Representatives

Senator Mike Woodard NC Senate

Community Leaders

Chip Baggett, JDCEO
North Carolina Medical Society

James Brigman
Pastor
St. Paul United Methodist Church,
Rockingham, NC

Cassandra Brooks
Owner/ Operator
Little Believer's Academy

Casey Cooper, BSN, MBA, FACHE CEO Cherokee Indian Hospital Authority

Andy Ellen, JD
President and General Counsel
NC Retail Merchants Association

Don FlowOwner/ CEO
Flow Automotive Companies

Mickey Foster, MHA
CEO
FirstHealth of the Carolinas

Tina Gordon, MPA, CAE, FACHE

CEO

North Carolina Nurses Association

Lisa Harrison, MPH

Director

Granville-Vance Public Health

Reg Henderson

Vice President of Government Relations Lowe's

Vivian Howard

Chef, Restauranteur, and Author

Steve Lawler

President

North Carolina Healthcare Association

Mehul Mankad, MD, DFAPA

Chief Medical Officer Alliance Health

Kenya McNiel-Trice, MD

Professor & Vice Chair of Education in Pediatrics UNC School of Medicine

Tommy Newton, MD

Family Physician

Lynne Pierce

Executive Director SAFE Food Ministry

Gary Salamido, MS

President and CEO NC Chamber

Merritt Seshul, MD, MBA, FACS

NC Medical Society Representative

Erica Smith

Executive Director Care4Carolina

Tunde Sotunde, MD, MBA, FAAP

President and CEO

Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Carolina

Margaret Weller-Stargell

President and CEO

Coastal Horizons Center, Inc.

Dale Wiggins

Chairman

Graham County Board of Commissioners

Patrick Woodie

President

NC Rural Center

Gene Woods, MBA, MHA, FACHE

President and CEO Atrium Health

NC DHHS Leadership

Mandy Cohen, MD, MPH

Secretary NC DHHS

Dave Richard

Deputy Secretary for NC Medicaid NC DHHS

Duke-Margolis Center for Health Policy

Elaine Chhean, MPH

Research Associate

Duke-Margolis Center for Health Policy

Katie Huber, MPH

Senior Research Assistant

Duke-Margolis Center for Health Policy

Mark McClellan, MD, PhD

Founding Director

Duke-Margolis Center for Health Policy

Hemi Tewarson, JD, MPH

Visiting Senior Policy Fellow

Duke-Margolis Center for Health Policy

Rebecca Whitaker, PhD, MSPH

Managing Associate

Duke-Margolis Center for Health Policy